Resolution 2- Whiskey Sour

Bourbon whiskeys offered at a liquor store in ...

Image via Wikipedia

So as I mentioned in my other blog, Things She Wants, for Christmas I received a new Kindle and the first book I downloaded was called How to Drink by Victoria Moore.  I love this book and read the whole thing before I had even made it home from New Mexico.  In keeping with my stolen New Years resolution the first recipe I had to try was her whiskey sour.  It was marvelous and, frankly, a revelation.  Here was a drink the had everything I was looking for: a creamy tart taste that was somehow low acid and behind the most delicious lemony flavor was a subtle kick of bourbon. Yay!

Because I am a little unsure about sharing a recipe from a book I found one online by Robert Hess that seemed basically the same:

Whiskey Sour

2 oz Bourbon Whiskey

1 oz simple syrup

3/4 oz lemon juice

1 tsp egg white

Add all your ingredients to a cocktail shaker, close tightly and shake thoroughly without ice to emulsify.  add ice and shake to chill and then strain into a glass well packed with ice

before anyone panics, yes this recipe calls for raw egg white.  Yes you should add it: suck it up dont think about what you are doing just do it, you wont be sorry, I promise.

really its important.

if you watch the video on Robert’s website it will tell you why its probably safe but I say suck it up.

~ by whatsheeats on January 2, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
