Fancy That

My good friend Michelle says that I make things too fancy. . .

and she is probably right.  This idea is probably what makes her much better at eating at home then I am.  She makes a dinner and then eats it.  I plan a menu, run all over town, make a huge meal incorporating every bowl and pan I have and then want nothing to do with the leftovers and have nothing else in the refrigerator for the next night.

So this week I am going fancy with the aim of making things simpler.  Last night I roasted some beets then sliced them and stored them in the fridge.  I then made a delicious slice of ham and mashed parsnips from “The Pleasures of Cooking for One”.  I also made a plan of brussle sprouts the way my sister does by cooking halved sprouts in a pan with chicken broth and adding butter and a little brown sugar at the end to aid in carmelization, to give it my own spin I threw in some hedgehog mushrooms.It was exhausting and it used up a lot of dishes.

but today I rewarmed the brussle sprouts and served them with some small slices of ham and a poached egg for breakfast.  For lunch I had a wasa style cracker with smoked salmon and an arugula and beet salad with bleu cheese.  Both meals took less then five minutes and were delicious.

Keeping it simple by getting fancy.

~ by whatsheeats on February 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
