The Butcher, The Baker, The Candlestick Maker

Public domain photograph of various meats. (Be...

Image via Wikipedia

So today I am making ham.

I have never made ham for a non holiday occasion but there is a recipe for ham for one in Judith Jones‘s “The Pleasures of Cooking for One” so I thought I might give it a whirl.  The book warns of the sizing of a slice of wrapped ham available at most markets so I though I would branch out and head over to my local butcher: Gartner’s Meat.  Though I have bought sausage there befor this was my first time buying anthing else.  They were so helpful,  I told the girl I wanted a 2 inch slice of ham and she cut open a ham, took a 2 inch slice and wrapped it right up, when I said I wanted something so I didn’t have to handle the smoked dog bones she handed me a paper.

This is service.  This is what is lacking in most of my shopping.

It seems anymore that everyone does everything at stores run by huge conglomerates.  Target, Walmart and Safeway provide us with everything we need.  Even health foods, once the province of small local coops, have been usurped by gourmet food behemoth Whole Foods.

so it took me a little longer to go to the butcher shop but truthfully it didn’t cost me anymore money and it made me feel a connection with my food that you just cant get from a shrink wrapped package in a grocery cooler.

so for now I am going to make a point to make that extra stop and go to the butcher, the bakery and, when it opens, the farmers market.  An hour or two of my life is worth it for better food, better service and, forgive me my grassroots moment, supporting people who actually live in my community.

~ by whatsheeats on February 9, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
